top of page

"Up From Slavery" by Booker T. Washington


Examing a passage from Up From Slavery by Booker T. Washington

The early years of my life, which were spend in the little cabin, were not very different from those of thousands of other slaves. My mother, of course, had little time in which to give attention to the training of her children during the day. She snatched a few moments for our care in the morning before her work began, and at night after the day's work was done. One of my earliest recollections is that of my mother cooking a chicken late at night, and awakening her children for the purpose of feeding them. How or where she got it i do not know. I presume however, it was procured from our owner's farm. Some people may call this theft. If such a thing were to happen now, I should condemn it as theft myself. But taking place at the time it did, and for the reason that it did, no one could ever make me believe that my mother was guilty of thieving. She was simply a victim of the system of slavery. I cannot remember having slept in a bed until after our family was declared free by the Emancipation Proclamation. Three children - John, my older brother, Amanda, my sister, and myself- had a pallet of the dirt floor, of filthy rags laid upon the dirt floor (Washington, 3-4).

Tone/mood

The tone is very dark and sad because it seems like he is very sad about his mother being a slave. In the passage it shows how he did not have such a sweet life style. For example, him sleeping in a bundle of dirty rags and the lack of his mother not being there the whole time. Point of view

This is written in first person. For example '' The early years of my life, which were spent in the little cabin, were not very different from those of thousands of the other slaves'' (Washington, 3). It is himself telling the story as the narrator. Figure of speech

When Booker talks about his mother not being a thief and that no one could make him believe that even if he was condemned. Imagery

''Three children- john, my older brother, Amanda, my sister, and myself, had a pallet on the dirt floor, or filthy rags laid upon the floor" (Washington, 4). The was a perfect description and I clearly imagine the scene. Theme:

He is struggling through slavery yet he overcame all obstacles to better himself and be a successful person.

No tags yet.
bottom of page